A Special Shoutout

150136_10152420776201437_4490765352484760716_n

Hello anyone reading this blog post! It’s Yoella, haven’t written in a while. Let me catch you up a little in my life. After finishing Shvil Yisrael, I hadn’t quite scratched my itch for the desert. I ended up heading back down south to hike around the desert for a week or so planning on heading from the Arava to the airport with Nava and when she flies to Africa I’d fly to somewhere in South America and WOOF my way around. After a week, I was heading to the nearest super market on Moshav Ein Yahav which was a ten kilometer walk when a farmer from Ein Yahav stopped to give me a ride. Along the way, he asked what I was doing and if I would like to work for his wife in her bed and breakfast. I said I could give it a shot. He drove me to his house instead and I met with his wife outside. She asked me when I would be ready to start and I said that I would like to go to the supermarket and shower first. She showed me my apartment and I ended up working there for five months.

After five months I decided that I love the desert but want to work in something that interests me more than folding sheets. I stayed on Ein Yahav but am now living in a modest caravan (which of course I pimped out) with my 4 month old puppy and working in a greenhouse of experimental peppers and well that’s just about everything in a nutshell.

ANYWAYS, the reason I’m writing this post is not about me at all; this post is about the face behind this blog, Betsy Diamant-Cohen. My mother has always been there for me when it comes to editing a paper or helping me type something when I’m too exhausted, but nothing comes close to how much help she provided us with updating this blog. I have vivid memories of Nava and I huddling up in sleeping bags calling my mother up and reading her notes we had scribbled earlier summing up our adventures. I remember hours on the phone where I would be making dinner over a fire while the phone is on speaker and my mom is sitting in America in her office trying to work out how to add media images into a blog post.

There is no way that I can possibly thank her enough for all of her time and energy that she put into this project that I really leaned on her for, but I thought I would share with you her blog so you can maybe see where I get some of my passions from. My parents, Stuart and Betsy, just completed the Arava Institute Bike Ride where they raised money and rode from Jerusalem to Eilat. Make sure to check out the breakfast tab of her blog (it’s her favorite part).

So thank you for reading and thank you Imma for everything,

Yoella

http://betsystuartbike.wordpress.com/about/

One thought on “A Special Shoutout

  1. Thank you Yoella. You are an extraordinary person, I love you with all my heart, and it was a pleasure to work with you on the blog. And…. thank you for helping me with my blog this week!!!!!!!

What are you thinking?

